kansas city, again day 2

October 25, 2015

nlbm

One more day in Kansas City. One of my stops was the Negro Leagues Baseball Museum, in the same building that also houses the American Jazz Museum. I paid $15 to see both, and thought it was money well spent. I stayed for several hours just looking and reading, especially in the baseball museum.

It’s packed with a lot of history, much of it made during my lifetime. I came across an entry for Hank Aaron (“Hammerin’ Hank”). He started playing for the Boston Braves a year before I was born. He came to Atlanta with the then Milwaukee Braves in 1966 (the Boston Braves became the Milwaukee Braves became the Atlanta Braves). From that point I kept up with him and the team.

the museums
the museums

The museum didn’t allow photography in the museum proper, and I understand that. My few photos are of the street exterior and the foyer.

After a few hours just soaking in the NLBM I meandered a bit around the city, enjoying the late afternoon sunshine and the balmy 65° weather. And then I drove back to the hotel and supper.